Skip to content

SCHotline Exclusive: An Interview with Carroll A. Campbell III, Governor 2010?

November 18, 2008
Carroll A. Campbell III

Carroll A. Campbell III

SCHotline Interview with Carroll A. Campbell III about a potential bid for the Governor’s Office in 2010.

Jeffrey Sewell:

Mr. Campbell thank you for agreeing to the call and if we may be so bold as to jump right into the issue of the call; we are hearing some chatter about you considering a run for Governor of South Carolina in 2010?

Carroll Campbell:

I am deeply concerned about our State and its future and I am considering it, why would I not, and thank you for being so direct. I, as well as many others, have lost confidence in our government’s ability to lead. With our economy where it is, our elected officials should be working together to find a solution rather than promoting personal agendas. I certainly don’t have all the answers, but I do know that what we are doing isn’t working. I believe our state needs to take a look at where we are, figure out where we need to be and how we get there. Then take actions together to make it happen.

Jeffrey Sewell:

Who is asking you to run, folks in general, peers and or business folks?

Carroll Campbell:

I have been approached by a full spectrum of South Carolinians from  business leaders to concerned citizens asking me to get involved. I truly believe the people of SC are looking for a change in leadership.

Jeffrey Sewell:

What’s your time frame for making a decision?

Carroll Campbell:

I will be exploring a run for Governor between now and the first quarter of next year.   If the feedback is positive and I can raise enough money to launch a serious effort, then I may take a shot. You know some of my potential opponents have been unofficially running for quite a while. I definitely have some catching up to do if I decide to run.

Jeffrey Sewell:

Some of your critics may say that you are running on your father’s name, how do you feel about that?

Carroll Campbell:

I am proud that Carroll Campbell was my father. I’m not alone in recognizing the many great things he did for our state. My father left me with a political legacy second to none… and for that I am grateful.

I wish my father were still alive…and would give up most anything for another day with him. Thankfully, his memory is still alive and well in the minds of South Carolinians. There is not a place I go in this state that I don’t run into folks who tell me stories about my dad, and how he touched their lives.

If you call being proud of who I am and where I came from running on his name, then so be it.

Jeffrey Sewell:

How do you restore confidence in our Government?

Carroll Campbell:

Say what you mean and mean what you say! We do this by unifying all elected officials to work towards the common goal of making South Carolina a better place. To make that happen we must put aside personal and political agendas. We start by recreating a bond of trust that has been lost between the Executive branch and the Legislative branch of our government. The Executive branch must work across party lines to create a vision of the future and then have the courage to make it happen.  No single party has a monopoly on good ideas. Likewise, The Legislative Branch must be willing to work towards a common goal and give it their all to reach it. We can’t have a contentious relationship between the Executive and Legislative Branches and expect to move SC forward.

The focus needs to be on our citizens. We need to create new jobs and put people back to work. We need to sow new seeds by recruiting new industry into our state. Our expansion job growth far exceeds our new job growth. Expansion jobs are critical to our growth, but we must focus on new growth as well. If a farmer tried to provide for his family on the same seeds year after year, he would starve! He needs to sow new seeds to survive. The same holds true with creating new jobs. We reap what we sow.

Jeffrey Sewell:

What will you change about how the Governor runs our State?

Carroll Campbell:

Everyone has their own style. I would lead by example. The Office of the Governor deserves a certain level of respect and dignity, not only by the individual that holds the office but also by the legislature. I would have an open door policy with the entire legislature. I would be the number one salesman for this state to recruit new industry. I would let state employees do their jobs and not micro-manage them. Most importantly, I wouldn’t let personal agendas get in the way of progress.

Jeffrey Sewell:

There has been a lot of discussion about your brother running again for Lt. Governor. Is he running and have you discussed running as a team?

Carroll Campbell:

You will need to ask him if he is running. Yes, we have had discussions about a team concept. We certainly see the benefit from a cost perspective, but also as a way to get our message out. We recognize at the end of the day we are two totally different people but we share a common goal in making South Carolina better than when we found it.

Jeffrey Sewell:

Why should someone consider you for Governor?

Carroll Campbell:

I am not part of the system. While I have been involved in supporting the Republican Party, I have intentionally stayed out of the political arena.  This presidential election should be a wake-up call to conservatives who think that the status quo is just not cutting it. We’ve got to become more progressive and sustain a new quality of life here.  I will bring fresh ideas and leadership back to our state. If the citizens of South Carolina are happy with where we are as a State and a Country, then they don’t need to consider me. The main question I ask myself and I encourage other South Carolinians to ask themselves is “are we thriving or simply surviving?”  The answer to that question will be pivotal in my ultimate decision to run for Governor of South Carolina.

Jeffrey Sewell:

Thank you for your time Sir and thank you for speaking to SCHotline.com…

###

Carroll Campbell, III serves as Chairman of Carroll Campbell and Associates.  He brings more than twenty years of political experience in providing governmental, political and corporate strategies for the firm’s clients. Mr. Campbell has comprehensive management experience in governmental affairs, new business development, and strategic planning.

Mr. Campbell began his political career working on his father’s campaigns with the legendary Lee Atwater.  He has worked on campaigns for the South Carolina House of Representatives, the United States Congress (both the House of Representatives and the Senate) and the South Carolina Governor’s Office.

Along with Mr. Campbell’s political involvement, he has maintained a private sector career path with various positions in executive management.  His responsibilities have included directing governmental affairs and business development for some of the leading businesses in South Carolina.  His previous work experience includes companies such as SCANA Corporation, Computer Science Corporation, Data Treasury Corporation, and Policy Management Systems.

Mr. Campbell has been a Gubernatorial Appointee to the South Carolina Ports Authority and has served as past Secretary and past Treasurer.  He has also served as the past State Chairman of the South Carolina Alzheimer’s Association.

Jeffrey Sewell is a principal of SCHotline.com and a the principal consultant of Sewell Consultancy, he and his wife Vee reside in West Columbia, South Carolina [BIO]

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. Carroll Campbell III: A Legend In His Own Mind :: FITSNews

Comments are closed.

