Skip to content

Please tell us about your election experience today!

November 4, 2008

Please tell us the time, county and polling place you voted.  Also about the wait the lines and or number of folks gathered to vote.  Please also feel free to forward your pictures of anything political or election oriented today…

If you twitter please feel free to post your remarks @ http://twitter.com/SCHotline

Email your in election line photos to: admin@schotline.com

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandon permalink
    November 4, 2008 3:56 PM

    Voted at Newington School in Summerville. Arrived at 8:15, done at 9:30. My 5th presidential election at this polling place, this was a normal turnout for the presidential election. This afternoon/evening may be different.

  2. Heather McNeil permalink
    November 4, 2008 3:58 PM

    Lexington County, VFW on Cedarcrest. Arrived in line at 707am. 30 minutes later the people coming out having voted had arrived at 0615. It took 2 hours to vote and the line was almost as long when we left as when we got there. Most turnout I’ve seen at this poll.

  3. David O permalink
    November 4, 2008 4:08 PM

    In line at 0620 in Greenwood. About 30 in line ahead of me. Finished voting at 0718. Line of over 100 by the time I left the precint. Most voters were white. Few people of color. Opposite true in “early” voting.

    I drove by election office daily. For the last week, most everyone outside the election office waiting in line to vote early was of color. I don’t understand election laws that allow some people to vote early and others have to waite. I would bet my pants that all those early voters were not on vacation or working a 12 hour shift today. Seems we need to make early voting an option for all or for none.

  4. Irmo, SC permalink
    November 4, 2008 4:08 PM

    It looks like Black Friday came early this year!

    Line was around the building in Irmo (northwest suburb of Columbia) when I arrived at 6:45am. First guy in line got there at 5:30am. Took 1 1/2 hours to vote. This is a newly formed precinct since 2004, but this appears to be is a massive turnout for a strong Republican precinct.

  5. DebO permalink
    November 4, 2008 4:20 PM

    Voted in Lexington Cty at Taylor Ele. school. Arrived 6:15 AM and out by 7:30. Line was very long when I left. Line would have moved faster if the alphabetical lists were split up more efficiently. This is the same problem I encounter at this polling place every time I go to vote (and I have been voting there for over 20 years!)

  6. November 4, 2008 4:20 PM

    Voted at Palmetto precinct in Greer, 29650. Took all of 40 minutes from start to finish.

  7. November 4, 2008 4:30 PM

    PalmettoScoop REPORT: Rock Hill Precinct 6 not allowing poll watcher to observe process. Poll workers being placed next to machines, not at table. 13 minutes ago from TwitterFox

  8. November 4, 2008 4:31 PM

    randypagesc Lines at Lexington #1 just over two hours long #sc2008 23 minutes ago from web

  9. November 4, 2008 4:34 PM

    fitsnews Your Turnout Stories: We’re getting loaded up with reports of record voter turnout from all acros.. http://tinyurl.com/6yofab about 1 hour ago from twitterfeed

    http://www.fitsnews.com/2008/11/04/your-turnout-stories/

  10. November 4, 2008 4:39 PM

    Here are some of the voter comments and unconfirmed problems e-mailed to The State:
    — “I voted in Richland County this morning @ Dutch Fork Middles school and was approached by a … candidate while I was not even 30 feet from the entrance of the polls asking for my vote. I was also approached by 2 people who were with the school system who asked me “I hope we can count on your vote for Richland County Schools today.”

    — “Not necessarily a ‘voting problem’ but a real vent – at my precinct (Ward 17, Brennen Elementary) a man was allowed to skip the entire line (which at the time was 1 1/2 hours long), go to the head of the line & vote. I am guessing it is because he is a doctor. He is obviously very misguided because his time is no more valuable than all the people he skipped in line. He should be ashambed of himself ….”

  11. Mark Goldstein permalink
    November 4, 2008 5:03 PM

    I voted at the dalzell precient…..arrived at 8 and was done at 11:30…..no air on in the gym and it was very hot in there with all the people in there….there are three precients in the same facility, dalzell, Hillcrest and Thomas Sumter. dalzell only had three machines, actually four but they kept using one for curbside instead of having a separate curbside machine……this was totally rediculous….they neeeded more machines and better organization. It was very chaotic.

  12. November 4, 2008 6:00 PM

    PalmettoScoop Lexington County Election Office phone number rolls to recording that mailbox is full and not accepting calls. 803-785-8361 #sc2008 28 minutes ago from TwitterBerry

  13. November 4, 2008 6:02 PM

    No problem in Bluffton, SC. Wait at my precinct was about ten minutes this afternoon. I’m told it was much busier during the morning

  14. Pres permalink
    November 4, 2008 7:25 PM

    I saw the candidate at Dutch Fork middle. While they are allowed to ask for your “support”, they cannot ask for your “vote”. They also cannot wear or hand out campaign materials.

  15. Pres permalink
    November 4, 2008 7:26 PM

    There was massive turnout, well above any other elections, at all the Irmo/Dutch Fork area precincts when I visited them this morning.

  16. November 4, 2008 7:29 PM

    voted at Reformation Lutheran in Cola.; 2 hours total wait. was that way at 7 a.m., so left and came back at 10, only to find same length line. things ran pretty smoothly. everyone i spoke to said turnout appeared heavier than normal. good to see people becoming more interested in the process….

  17. Chris permalink
    November 4, 2008 10:09 PM

    I voted at 2:00 p.m. at Friarsgate Park and it took me 30 minutes. My daughter voted at the same location at 9:25 a.m. and had to wait 2 hours.
    For my duaghter it took her 3 attempts to vote! She registered in Sept. and as a college student needed to vote absentee. She attempted to do that on October 16 but they didn’t have her info keyed in yet so she was turned away (only 8 people in line that day). She came home this past week-end and to vote Sat. and the line was a million people long. She drove home last night just to vote today! She was concerned her vote wouldn’t matter. I told her DID matter and she voted McCain!

  18. November 4, 2008 10:32 PM

    I voted at West Columbia #1, Lexington, Vee called me at 12:15 and said get here quick no lines… Anyway I was the only one there at 12:30PM in and out in a minute… I understand the lines were long in the AM.

    ~Jeffrey Sewell

  19. David Cloer permalink
    November 4, 2008 10:41 PM

    We voted at Mount Pleasant, SC Precinct Main City office complex at 10:40 am. Voted in 1 hour and 45 Min. Almost no young people in the ages 20-30years old. Mostly 40 years and up, although a fair amount of 30 and up. Apparently , from talking with people in the line we were mostly Republican and sick of the way this country is heading.

  20. November 5, 2008 12:46 AM

    I went to the polls 5 times before I was able to vote. There was a 2 hour wait each time, so I had to wait until after work. The line was 1 hour long then. Mandy Powers-Norrell was in the gym (Hyde Park, Lancaster, SC), shaking hands and asking people to vote for her. I complained to the poll watcher, but he said that it was legal as long as no one complained or she did not interfere in the voting process. I pointed out that I was complaining, but he would not ask her to leave. She was talking to us while we were 10 feet from the voting booths.

  21. Anne permalink
    November 5, 2008 2:41 AM

    Voted about 10:00 and it took about 90 minutes. Took a book, so the time went fairly quickly. No candidate or representative talked with me. That would not have bothered me. I have no problem telling people I support their person, or why I do not! As I watch TV tonight, I am hopeful, except here in SC.

  22. Jasto permalink
    November 5, 2008 3:24 PM

    Went after work to Pinehurst Park Gym… around 5:40. No waiting. Drove by there on the way to work just to see if there was a line, not intending to vote, and there were cars parked on both sides of the road for 200 yds. in each direction.

    On the huge lines of Democrats voting absentee at the election office, I saw them too… drove by there often last week during lunch when running errands. I heard something on WVOC yesterday that may shed some light on that “phenomenon.”

    A guy called in who said he had voted at Dreher H.S. and when he presented his credentials, he noted that his wife’s name had not been checked off the rolls, even though she had voted absentee (I think he said mail-in) because she wasn’t going to be in town.

    He brought it up to the poll worker, and asked, “So if she came in today, she would be able to vote?” The poll worker said, “Yes,” and that they had been told they would be getting two lists from the election office to present against their voter roll list so they could check off absentee voters, but had only received one of the lists.

    You do the math.

    I had been wondering why people were willing to stand in line for HOURS AND HOURS at a single location when we have 125 polling places in this county.

Leave a Reply

