Skip to content

Will Folks

January 17, 2007

Profiles of politicos

SCHotline Legacy Logo

Will Folks is the former press secretary to Governor Mark Sanford and the president of Viewpolitik a public relations firm most noteable for recent work with Thomas Ravenel’s successful campaign for state treasurer. Folks blog is located at FITSNews

Will Folks

SC Hotline: Tell us a little bit about yourself:
Where and when were you born? Where did you go to college? What have you done in the past?

Folks: I was born in Columbia, S.C. in 1974. My mom says I was not even five minutes old and I had already shot her a look that told her I was going to be nothing but trouble.

I’ve got two degrees from South Carolina. I’ve been a sportswriter, a bass guitar player, spokesman to a governor and owner of my own PR firm. I also help five incredibly attractive women (who may or may not exist) write a political blog called FITSNews.

SC Hotline: What is the book you are currently reading or what is your favorite book?

How about let’s start with what I’m currently listening to instead? I’m listening to Dean Martin’s “Volare” right now but my favorite bands are all more recent – Smithereens, REM, Smashing Pumpkins, Pavement, Led Zeppelin, Death Cab for Cutie, Cracker, Afghan Whigs, Luna, Foo Fighters, Radiohead and Spoon, to name a few.

My favorite book is a tie between T. Harry Williams biography of Huey Long and Albert Speer’s Inside the Third Reich. Shelby Foote’s Civil War Trilogy is also good stuff.

SC Hotline: What is the best moment you had in a campaign?

Reading the newspaper the morning after T-Rav told Aaron Sheinin “That’s how I roll.”

I’m kidding.

Honestly? The best moment I ever had on a campaign? It was July 4, 2002, hands down. Sanford had won the Republican primary like eight days earlier and we had just beaten back the first round of negative ads from Jim Hodges. Anyway, we were dead tired. We had worked our asses off for months and Sanford finally left for a couple days vacation. Well myself, Daniel Layfield and C. Tyson Nettles took the Sanfords’ six-seat golf cart, loaded it up with beer, threw a CD player on the back of it and basically rode up and down the entire length of Sullivans Island all day long handing out “Sanford for Governor” coozies to all the pretty girls in bathing suits walking down to the beach. I seriously think that when I die and go to heaven that it’s going to be that day … playing over and over again. Well, except the part when the S.I.P.D. pulled us over and one of us almost got a “Golf Carting Under the Influence” citation. It was great, though. Sanford got back and asked us what we had done all weekend and we told him “grassroots campaigning.”

SC Hotline: What is the worst moment you had in a campaign?

Folks: Watching the Republican Governor I helped elect sit back and do absolutely nothing while one of his appointees beat up on T-Rav. Total coward move on Sanford’s part. I lost a lot of respect for him.

SC Hotline: Do you have any hobbies besides politics?

Folks: I love to bodysurf, play chess, shoot hoops, throw darts, bowl for money, shoot pool and play the guitar and piano. I also have a large collection of sports cards (all worthless) and shark’s teeth (equally worthless).

SC Hotline: Who is your political hero?

Anybody who is honest with the people.

SC Hotline: What is you best political accomplishment?

Folks: The fact that I’m still here.

SC Hotline: What would do if you were president for a day?

Pardon myself for anything I might do in the future.

SC Hotline: What are the Secrets of you success?

I don’t know that I’ve been around long enough to really be successful in my own right. I work hard and generally give people advice that makes sense. This stuff isn’t rocket science. Find right thing. Do right thing. It amazes me that so many people in politics are so obtuse.

SC Hotline: What are your biggest gripes?

Folks: No gripes. Life’s too short.

SC Hotline: What are your predictions for 2007?

Folks:

1- We’ll break $7 billion on the state budget.
2- The Mitt Romney balloon will pop in South Carolina
3- Jeffrey Sewell will start a nationwide “Ascot” phenomenon.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2007 5:35 PM

    Wwwwaaaaaahhhhh … how come he gets to be in there, but I don’t. No fair, I’m gonna teeeelllllll … wwwwaaaaahhhhhhh.

    Seriously, good piece of work there.

  2. Buster Stronghart permalink
    May 26, 2010 3:23 PM

    Will Folks is either a braggart or a liar….in either case he stinks.

  3. Jamie Frazier permalink
    May 30, 2010 9:48 PM

    What a cad! Even if this is true, your mother should have told you to keep your mouth shut. She must be real proud of you.

Trackbacks

  1. Sic Willie Interview Up On The Hotline « FITSNews For Now

Leave a Reply

